Campaign News

Posted on Wednesday, 30 November

Jerome’s election campaign – in five conversations

I’ve loved being a candidate.

There. I’ve said it.

I love throwing people a line about billionaires or the state of the world, and seeing what those people throw back at me.

Read more

Posted on Tuesday, 29 November

We celebrate our epic campaign as the count continues

With counting for Victoria’s upper house only in its early stages, it’s clear we’ve made history – but it’s too early to tell whether our lead candidates Liz Walsh and Jerome Small will win a seat in Victoria’s Legislative Council.
Read more

Posted on Wednesday, 26 October

Victorian Socialists launch policy manifesto

More than 250 volunteers and supporters turned out on Friday 21 October to help launch VS's state election policy manifesto.
Read more

Posted on Thursday, 13 October

Counter-protest against anti-abortion 'March for the Babies'

On Saturday 8th October Victorian Socialists’ candidate for the Western Metropolitan region Liz Walsh led, alongside VS supporters and other activists, a successful counter-rally against the anti-abortion ‘March for the Babies’.
Read more

Posted on Wednesday, 28 September

Victorian Socialists protest environmental neglect in western suburbs

On Sunday 25 October Victorian Socialists led a protest march in Sunbury, demanding an end to the toxic pollution of air, land and waterways in the western suburbs.
Read more

Posted on Thursday, 22 September

State election doorknocking campaign begins

Victorian Socialists’ state election doorknocking campaign kicked-off in earnest in September.
Read more

Posted on Thursday, 15 September

'Stories of resistance': Jerome Small for northern metro campaign launch

On Sunday 11th September, Victorian Socialists members and supporters gathered at the Thornbury Bowls Club for the official launch of Jerome Small’s campaign for the northern metro upper house region.
Read more

Posted on Tuesday, 13 September

Victorian Socialists join early childhood educators' #ShutDowntheSector rally

On Wednesday 7 September Victorian Socialists members joined a mass rally by early childhood educators fighting for improved wages and conditions in the sector.
Read more

Posted on Tuesday, 30 August

Palestine solidarity forum held in Broadmeadows

Victorian Socialists supporters and volunteers from the Broadmeadows, Greenvale and Kalkallo campaigns gathered at Hume City Youth Central in Broadmeadows on 28 August for a discussion on the struggle for Palestine.
Read more

Posted on Monday, 29 August

'Footscray for People Not Profit' campaign

Victorian Socialists has launched a campaign to keep the current Footscray Hospital site in public hands.
Read more

Posted on Thursday, 25 August

Victorian Socialists forum on housing crisis

Over 50 Victorian Socialists supporters and volunteers from across the northern metro region gathered at Cafe Gummo in Thornbury on Tuesday 23 August for a 'politics in the pub' discussion on the housing crisis.
Read more

Posted on Saturday, 20 August

Refugee and migrant rights forum

On Tuesday 16 August Victorian Socialists hosted a forum on 'Fighting for Refugee and Migrant Rights' at Dempster Park Hall in Sunshine.
Read more

Posted on Wednesday, 10 August

Victorian Socialists launch election campaign

The launch marked the beginning of more intensive campaigning in the lead up to the 26 November election.
Read more